Week 1 – Hoop Embroidery

THE STATS:

Activity: Hoop Embroidery

Where: At Home!

Cost: $14.50 for a DIY Embroidery Kit from Chapters Indigo

The Story: An embroidery hoop or (earlier) tambour frame consists of a pair of concentric circular or elliptical rings. The larger ring has a tightening device, usually in the form of a metal screw. The artisan repositions the hoop as needed when working over a large piece of fabric. Embroidery hoops come in various sizes and are generally small enough to control with one hand and rest in the lap. Hoops were originally made ofwood, bone, or ivory; modern hoops are made of wood or plastic Hoops may be attached to a table-top or floor stand when both hands must be free for sewing, as in making tambour lace. Standing floor frames and lap frames allow the crafter to keep both hands free for working, which increases the speed and precision of work performed. (From Wikipedia)

So here’s the deal…I thought I was picking an “easy” task for my first week’s challenge. I’m in a wedding party this weekend, and with a jam-packed week, I thought “hey, let’s try something from home that won’t be too time consuming”…that along with what I wrote earlier about my blog inspiration kind of clinched the deal on hoop embroidery.  HA! I definitely learned tonight that new things are never really going to be easy lol!

I started by opening up the box, and looking through the assorted goodies that came with the kit.  I had 5 templates to choose from, 6 colours of embroidery floss, scissors, a piece of cloth, a needle and a very small instruction booklet. I knew right off the bat which template I would choose to start (definitely appropriate!), so I got to cutting and got ready to be crafty.

Hoop Pic 1  Hoop Pic 2

So I trace the template onto the fabric and I’m ready to go, I’m excited, ready for the first step…and I can’t thread the needle. I’m not kidding, it took me 30 minutes to thread the black floss the first time, and I could only get half the strands through lol! Needless to say, I carried on (although I did think about giving up and throwing the hoop across the room no less than 10 times), and the first letters started taking uneven, crooked shape.

Hoop 3  Hoop Pic 4

Now there were some hold ups…I had to pull out some wonky stitches, re-thread the needle a few (hundred) times, but eventually I got my groove going and things started coming together…on the last word lol. You’ll notice below that the LOVE looks pretty darn great! I then free-handed some stars (yes, I’m just that good now), and finished up the whole project in a cool 3 hours lol.

Now, I learned a few things during this process.  I am not a super patient person, but felt very determined to see this through.  It’s nice to know that I can push through my desire to give up and keep going, even when I’ve worn my own patience thin! I will definitely do this again, and there are a bunch of different stitching techniques that I would love to experiment with.  I think this kit was a fun way to get started, but it definitely had its faults. The fabric was super thin and see-through, and the embroidery floss was VERY hard to thread lol! All told, for the $14.50 I would totally recommend this to someone who feels like getting a little crafty on a Tuesday night.  Only thing I’d add next time – WINE!

Stay tuned for more adventures next week! I think it’s going to involve home improvement, so that’ll be a whole new level of interesting 🙂 thanks for reading! Check out the finished product below – it’ll be on my wall tomorrow!

Heather xo

Hoop 6

Leave a Reply

