Week 2 – Adult Colouring

THE STATS:

Activity: Adult Colouring

Where: At Home!

Cost: $15.95 for my colouring book “The Big Book of Mandalas Coloring Book” from Chapters Indigo, Crayola pencil crayons from Dollarama ($2), and a super cute pencil case from my dear friend Christine 🙂

The Story: So I had never heard of adult colouring, or adult colouring books until about a month ago. I started to see images of them pop up on friends’ Facebook feeds, and I was instantly both skeptical and curious – why would anyone over the age of 5 want to colour? I didn’t really think of it again until the author of my fave break up book (see past posts for the link!) wrote about the therapeutic effects of adult colouring, and how it can be a great way to clear your mind of obsessive thoughts. I think we can all agree that when we’re going through a tough time like a break-up, there’s nothing worse than your mind replaying everything on a loop! For this reason, I thought this week was the perfect week to try out this fun activity! Fun fact – as of April 6th, 2015, the two best-selling books on Amazon were adult colouring books! Check out this article for some interesting info 🙂

Mandala 8

So the one thing I realized right off the hop about adult colouring books is that they are NOTHING like kids’ colouring books! The designs are beautiful, intricate and require a lot of concentration to complete! The book I chose has over 200 pictures of mandalas ((Sanskrit: मण्डल Maṇḍala, ‘circle’) is a spiritual and ritual symbol in Hinduism and Buddhism, representing the Universe. The basic form of most mandalas is a square with four gates containing a circle with a center point. Each gate is in the general shape of a T. Mandalas often exhibit radial balance), some of which were more basic, and others that looked incredibly challenging. I chose one that was kind of ‘in between’ to test out my skills…here are some examples of what they look like in their uncoloured form:

Mandala 1 Mandala 2 Mandala 3 Mandala 4

So off the bat, I will say that it’s super important to have the right colouring utensils. My Dollarama pencils crayons definitely did not cut it, especially since there are so many super small little holes to fill in…the larger designs were easy enough, but the small ones required constant pencil sharpening. I’m looking into higher quality pencils or even special fine-tip markers for future colouring adventures, most likely from a craft store like Michael’s or Curry’s. Here are a few pics of the beginning stages:

Mandala 5 Mandala 6 Mandala 7 Mandala 9

So this took me a LONG time…not even being funny, probably like 5 hours total lol. It was a blissful five hours though! Between your mind concentrating on staying in the lines, and your hand colouring, there is literally no time for other thoughts. You feel suspended in a moment, relaxed and at ease…it’s very therapeutic! I had read that colouring is sometimes used as therapy for adults, and I can certainly understand why. Specifically, colouring mandalas is meant to release creative energy and free the mind – mission accomplished! I loved this exercise, and will continue to do it regularly – maybe even for 30 minutes to an hour each night before bed to calm my nerves and unwind. All in all, I highly recommend adult colouring, my friends! Finished product below – it’s definitely getting framed 🙂

Mandala 10

2 comments

  1. Kathy Wilhelm · June 12, 2015

    Beautiful, Heather! FYI – I taught you to colour…lol

    Like

  2. Sareeta Ganesan · August 18, 2015

    Gorgeous Heather! I have some stamps that would lend themselves quite nicely to your need for colouring!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

