Week 4 – Home Renovations

THE STATS

Activity: Priming and Painting

Where: My Investment Property

Cost: Assorted Costs for Primer, Paint and all the fixin’s to get the job done!

The Story: Home renovations are something that everyone has to get around to at some point in their lives, but I chose this activity this week for 2 reasons. The first is that it was a HUGE undertaking because of the size of the job and it took up a few days of my time (aka couldn’t fit something more fun into my schedule), and the second is because I’m super proud that I was able to physically do the work at all! Let me explain further.

So I’ve owned an investment property in Hamilton for 5 years, and now that things are coming to an end with my marriage, it’s finally time to get it done and SOLD so we can part ways financially! This means TONS of work (it was a tiny bungalow that has been renovated into a 2 storey home), and tons of work that needs to get done fast. So around the time we bought this house, I was diagnosed with an auto-immune disease (well, finally diagnosed as I had been suffering for some time), and it’s been super debilitating to my life. At times, it has had me completely unable to move from the pain I’m in, and has played some serious mental games with me too. It’s called psoriatic arthritis, here’s a little info on what I’m dealing with:

Psoriatic arthritis is a form of arthritis that affects some people who have psoriasis — a condition that features red patches of skin topped with silvery scales. Most people develop psoriasis first and are later diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis, but the joint problems can sometimes begin before skin lesions appear.

Joint pain, stiffness and swelling are the main symptoms of psoriatic arthritis. They can affect any part of your body, including your fingertips and spine, and can range from relatively mild to severe. In both psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis, disease flares may alternate with periods of remission.

No cure for psoriatic arthritis exists, so the focus is on controlling symptoms and preventing damage to your joints. Without treatment, psoriatic arthritis may be disabling.

There have been a lot of ups and downs since my diagnosis, but I’ve finally found that eating an elimination diet is the key to feeling better without medication. My recent weight loss has helped as well (down 50 lbs – holla!!) and I’m finding myself more agile and able most days (although the rain this weekend has been killer for my joints!), which has been so life-changing.

So back to the renovations and why I was so happy to complete them this week! Not long ago, the idea of picking up a roller and paint brush and priming an entire floor of a house, or refinishing a porch would have been CRAZY to me. I could barely hold a pen most days (right wrist is severely affected by the arthritis), so this kind of undertaking would have been something I laughed off. I’m not sure why I was so determined to contribute to finishing the house this past week, but I decided that I wanted to tackle two jobs, and that I was going to do them no matter what.

I don’t have photos as proof of the work I did lol, but rest assured I was a hot mess of paint and primer and that many an article of clothing was ruined! I sanded, washed, caulked, primed and painted the wood skirt on our front porch and front stairs as project #1, which was actually a great experience. Not only did I get to try some things I’d never done before, I also got some exercise in, spent 2 days in the sun getting an awesome tan, and chatted with neighbours I hadn’t seen in ages (you come across some very interesting people in my neighbourhood!). I then primed the ENTIRE main floor of the house, which was super labour intensive, but left me feeling so accomplished. In fact, I walked away from both tasks feeling like I had overcome some huge obstacles, and reassured that even without a man in my life, I’m very capable of getting things done!

So moving forward, I have some activities and adventures planned that I’m super excited about! Stay tuned for sports, art, and FUN!

One comment

  1. Kathy Wilhelm · June 29, 2015

    Way to go Heather, that is quite the accomplishment, I have seen you at your worst and you’re right, you couldn’t walk, let alone prime and paint anything! I’m so proud of you and can’t wait to see what you have coming up next.

    Love Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

