Week 5 – Painting

Activity: Painting

Where: Cocktails n’ Canvas Painting Class

Cost: $48.59 for the class, and $13 for the glass of wine (including tip!) that I enjoyed while painting 🙂

The Story:  Painting is the practice of applying paint, pigment, color or other medium to a surface (support base). The medium is commonly applied to the base with a brush but other implements, such as knives, sponges, and airbrushes, can be used. In art, the term painting describes both the act and the result of the action. Paintings may have for their support such surfaces as walls, paper, canvas, wood, glass, lacquer, clay, leaf, copper or concrete, and may incorporate multiple other materials including sand, clay, paper, plaster, gold leaf as well as objects. The term painting is also used outside of art as a common trade among craftsmen and builders. Painting is a mode of creative expression, and the forms are numerous. Drawing, gesture (as ingestural painting), composition, narration (as in narrative art), or abstraction (as in abstract art), among other aesthetic modes, may serve to manifest the expressive and conceptual intention of the practitioner.[2] Paintings can be naturalistic and representational (as in a still life or landscape painting), photographic, abstract, be loaded with narrative content, symbolistic (as in Symbolist art),emotive (as in Expressionism), or be political in nature (as in Artivism).

So I’m lucky enough to have some great friends following my blog, and one of the most exciting things about that is that people are reaching out and offering to do some of my weekly activities with me! I had a friend reach out a few weeks ago and ask if painting was on my list of things to do, and it was so we set up a fun girls night out at a Cocktails n’ Canvas event! For those of you not familiar, these are community painting nights set up in local restaurants or pubs where you are provided with a canvas, paint, brushes and an instructor to walk you through the painting! When you sign up you choose what painting class you’d like to participate in, so my friend and I chose ‘The Illuminated Woods’:

The Illuminated Woods

So from the get-go, I had NO idea how I was going to paint this beautiful picture lol. I have to tell you, I was pretty nervous and really felt like I was going to do something “wrong” (which I’m sure my friend can attest to since I spent the first hour of the class asking her if I was doing it right lol!), but about half way through the class I realized that everyone was really just doing their own thing! It’s pretty incredible how people interpret the same painting differently, and how much variety there was in all of our final pieces. Here are some pictures of the beginning stages…I was so caught up in the actual painting that I forgot to snap photos at the very beginning, so we’re starting about halfway through:

IF1IF2IF3

So the instructor walks you through the painting step by step, which is super helpful for the amateurs in the crowd! She also paints along with you, so that you can actually see what she’s doing. This entire painting was painted with just 3 colours (white, black and a bright blue) and 3 brushes in varying sizes. It was all done in layers, which I thought was really interesting, and we worked from the top down starting with the sky, moving onto the moonlight and stars, and then the mountains and trees:

IF6IF5

Here’s my friend getting her paint on – super talented:

IF4

It all came together quite miraculously by the end of our 2 hour class:

IF7IF8

I have to say that I LOVED this week’s adventure! It was an amazing creative outlet, tons of fun, and left me feeling super accomplished about my artistic skills! I came home and proudly hung my new artwork right away:

IF10 IF9

The Verdict: I will 100% be painting again…of all the weeks I’ve done so far, this has been my absolute favourite, and definitely something I can see myself doing again, whether in a class or on my own at home. I’m really looking forward to improving my skills, and am already planning my next class for July 30th – friends, let me know if you want to join me! XO

Leave a Reply

