Week 8 – Attend a Huge Public Event

Activity: Attend a Huge Public Event – my choice? The RBC Canadian Open

Where: Glen Abbey Golf Course in Oakville, ON

Cost: For average folk, the passes I had cost $280 for the week…luckily I’ve got some friends in high places!

The Story: Steeped in history and tradition, Oakville, Ont.’s Glen Abbey Golf Club has once again been named to host the 2015 RBC Canadian Open. The world-class event, which is part of the Triple Crown of national golf championships, will host many of the best golfers in the world July 20 – 26, 2015. Renowned as the longtime home of the Canadian Open, Glen Abbey will play host to Canada’s National Open Championship for a record 27th time. The announcement marks the return of the RBC Canadian Open to the ClubLink-owned facility where it was last held in 2013, an event won by PGA TOUR star and Team RBC member Brandt Snedeker.

So, I’m not a huge golf follower, but I’ve known enough about the sport for over a decade now because my high school boyfriend was OBSESSED with golf, which led to endless hours of watching him play, hitting the driving range, and playing golf video games. Now you wouldn’t think this could constitute a knowledge of the game, but I know enough about what par, birdies and eagles mean to at least not feel completely lost on a golf course. So I mentioned some friends in high places…they are a major part of the Open, which is how I was able to score some amazing passes for my Dad and I to attend Sunday (very grateful!!). He is a MAJOR golf fan, and was extremely excited to be heading out to see the final day of the tournament, and I was pretty excited at the prospect of people-watching in the crowd of 30,000.

Confession time – I hate big crowds…the chaos, the heat, the crazy people,..it’s always something I’ve shied away from – “it’s too much trouble” I’d think, and allow myself to skip out on another event or invitation. But this time, with my new-found love of putting myself out there, I decided to go for it, and was really looking forward to spending the day exploring the course with my Dad.

So we get dropped at the course, and the line up was a little intense…luckily my sneaky Dad just weaved his way through the crowd as I scurried behind him to keep up, and we got in right away. We headed to the Golf Canada House lounge, and enjoyed a couple of drinks before hitting the 16th green to watch the golfers come through on the tail end of their final day.

16th green

While we were chilling out in the shade enjoying the game, I ran into my Very Important Friend who offered us passes into the RBC Clubhouse for the day…amazing food and drinks PLUS box seats over the 18th hole – yes please! We headed up right away, and met up with some old friends of mine, and settled in to enjoy the afternoon.

The great thing about old friends is that it seems like no matter how much time passes, you can just fall back into easy conversation, great laughs and a sense of normalcy that anyone would welcome. So that’s what the afternoon consisted of…great conversation, tons of laughter and just so much fun! We drank (a lot), roasted in the sun, and watched as a Canadian made the race to finish first…and he was SO close! Missed it by 2 strokes, but the Canadian pride was palpable in the crowd, and the closing ceremony included an awesome tribute to the Great White North (great view from our box, eh?!)!

Canadian Pride

The evening ended with more food and drinks, and a photo op with the winner Jason Day…so much fun, and so much celebrating! I truly had an amazing day, and owned my VIP status while I could lol!

The Verdict: I’m pretty sure my enjoyment of this event had a lot to do with a) spending the day with my Dad, b) reuniting with old friends, c) the freebies and excitement, and may have been proportional to being able to be a spectator from above…I’m not sure if I would have had the same experience if I’d been among the 30,000 “commoners” (kidding, kidding), but I know one thing for sure…I’ll go back next year if I can! XO

Leave a Reply

