It’s a big day up in here…

Okay, so I realize that I still owe you my weekly adventure from last week (it’s coming!) and I’ll have another one for this week in a few days, but I need to take a minute to just write about today. So I haven’t seen my ex-husband in like, 6 weeks. We had a huge blow out on June 30th, and haven’t seen each other since, which I have to tell you, has been DELIGHTFUL. Not even kidding, a few months ago if you’d told me I wouldn’t be seeing him or speaking to him for that long, I probably would have had some kind of crying meltdown, but I cannot express enough how amazing this time away has been for me!

As you read in my Vegas adventure blog, that trip was super transformative for me. I came back feeling truly happy, and ready to conquer the world…and my divorce. I have not been happier than I am now in AGES, and it’s been such a great place to be. Being able to authentically look forward and feel GREAT about where I am, where I’m going, and that I’m going it alone is something that I could never have imagined happening so quickly, but I think taking an honest look at what my relationship looked like, and how it was holding me back has helped tremendously. I feel so incredibly FREE, and while I’m sure I’ll have my moments as things get settled with you-know-who, I really feel like I’m through the worst of it.

So flash forward to today, and I have to see him. For like a whole day see him, while he clears out all his stuff from my parents basement and garage. I’ve spent the past week utterly dreading the thought of having to be in the same 5km radius as him, but I woke up this morning feeling like this is just one more obstacle I need to overcome on my journey to independence and freedom, and I’m totally going to be okay! And you know what? I totally was okay. We were civil, we communicated when we needed to, and it wasn’t nearly as bad as I had imagined it to be. I will say that going through boxes and finding old love letters, anniversary cards and gifts was an unexpected challenge, but it’s all part of the process of closing one chapter of my life and opening another, which brings the promise of so much greatness. Okay, signing off for now…time to crash after this long ass day! Til tomorrow when I hit you up with last week’s Week 9 adventure! XO

Leave a Reply

