Week 10 – Make a Dreamcatcher

Activity: Making a dreamcatcher

Where: At home!

Cost: $46 from Sloan Dream Kits off of Etsy

The Story: Dream catchers are one of the most fascinating traditions of Native Americans. The traditional dream catcher was intended to protect the sleeping individual from negative dreams, while letting positive dreams through. The positive dreams would slip through the hole in the center of the dream catcher, and glide down the feathers to the sleeping person below. The negative dreams would get caught up in the web, and expire when the first rays of the sun struck them.

I’ve always loved dreamcatchers, and can remember having one in my room hanging over my bed even as a little girl. I love the legend behind them, and the idea that my bad dreams (plenty of these in the past 6 months!) can be trapped and carried away by the morning light. I decided this week it was time to take a break from outdoor adventures, and get my craft on again, so I checked out DIY Dreamcatcher Kits on Etsy, and found this little guy to try out:

DC1 DC2

So as complicated as it all looks, once I got started (and watched a Youtube video lol) it was actually super simple to put this beauty together! I did have to do the threading/webbing 3 times because I did it wrong the first time, and it unraveled the second, but third time’s a charm and I had the hoop ready to go!

DC3 DC4

I’m not kidding, I still look at these pictures and can’t believe I did this lol! Such a fun venture into creativity that didn’t have me ripping my hair out (for once). So web completed, time to tie the pieces of lace and fabric provided and start making the streamers:

DC5

The finished product still makes me smile every time I see it, and the pictures I’ll post really just can’t do it justice! If you’re crafty at all, and enjoy the idea of having a dream catcher, I totally recommend you make your own! Mine still needs some feathers glued on (didn’t have a glue gun last night, but I’ll grab one), but otherwise, here’s the finished product:

DC7 DC8 DC9 DC10

And here she is hanging up over my bed (excuse the terrible lighting, but it was like 10pm):

DC6

The Verdict: I would definitely do this again! To be honest, I’d probably source my own materials because I think choosing all kinds of fun, vintage fabrics and lace from second hand stores would make this even more fun. The gal who sold me this kit is Canadian, which makes her super awesomely friendly, and she actually sent me two kits instead of one so I’ll get to working on the second one soon! Head’s up to everyone, I just booked the most awesomely amazing adventure for the week of August 17-23 so stay tuned for that! In the meantime, I have something active up my sleeve for next week! XO

One comment

  1. Kathy Wilhelm · August 7, 2015

    I have a glue gun and glue sticks… Very nice, can’t believe that you did it!

    KATHY WILHELM CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER

    [image: http://www.turnils.com/tnaesignature.jpg%5D T U R N I L S C A N A D A 2908 Portland Drive I Oakville, Ontario L6H 5W8 905.825.2276 I turnils.ca

    Be sure to check out our Special Blowout Pricing on Sunscreen, Coil and Rail by clicking on the links below:

    http://www.turnils.ca/pricelists/Sunscreen.pdf

    http://www.turnils.ca/pricelists/Coil-and-Rail.pdf

    Like

Leave a Reply

