Why you gotta be so mean…

So, I decided that writing a positive post about my adventures in dance and how much I’m loving that first, would give me permission to write this more angry post about going through a divorce lol. I honestly sometimes can’t even believe that it’s almost been a year since this whole disaster started, and sometimes it feels like I’m right back at square one getting dirt thrown in my face and insults flung at my character and spirit – it is freaking exhausting!

I thought that when my husband left me it would be a lot more cut and dry because really, we don’t have kids and it should’ve been a pretty simple situation, but I’ll tell you that having this house we’re renovating (and have been renovating for 5 and a half years) has dragged the hell out of this process. Having to be in constant contact with your ex SUCKS. Like, it’s the WORST. Sometimes I let my guard down and think that everything is good and civil and that we can be amicable, and then some little thing will happen and he just unleashes on me. This time it was me asking to be reimbursed for all the money I spend on the house moving into the New Year (not forever, just for 2016)…I’ve just honestly never dealt with a situation where someone feels so entitled to have his cake and eat it too.

Anyways, I have to keep looking forward, keep seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. I’ve tried to do everything so above board over the past year, and to be honest and fair and kind in all of our interactions, so it’s just very hurtful to have it all thrown back at you with such disdain and disregard. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised at this point, but I honestly am every single time.

I have so much respect for people who go through this stuff and have to stay in touch forever because of children. I never thought I’d say these words, but I’m so grateful that my ex and I don’t have any children, because I cannot imagine having to do this for the rest of my life, truly. Here’s to better days moving forward, and (hopefully) a completion to this house project and chapter of my life by the end of 2015. In the words of T-Swift…

 

Leave a Reply

