Love yourself most…

So I just finished re-watching Sex and the City, and I have to say that I’m even more in love with Carrie Bradshaw, Miranda Hobbs, Charlotte York and Samantha Jones than ever before. Not only does this show keep me crying like a baby more than a decade after it originally aired, but it continues to remind me of something very important. While we can consider ourselves lucky if we’re blessed with incredible parents, siblings and friends who will support us through thick and thin, the very most important relationship we will ever have is the one we have with ourselves.

I have a friend of a friend who got some pretty awful news today. She found out that her significant other cheated on her. My heart immediately broke for her, because I know all too well the kind of pain that comes along with a realization of this magnitude. And sadly, these things happen to people every day. Like every single minute of every single day there is someone out there whose heart is crushed by the realization that their partner, the person they trust the most in the world, has completely betrayed them. Now dramatics aside, I can say from experience that once you’re through the initial hurt and pain of infidelity you have a really amazing opportunity to learn from what has happened to you, and that’s where the basis of this post comes from.

Loving ourselves is so unbelievably underrated. I feel like people in general are always looking outside themselves to find happiness, fulfillment, and joy, but ultimately we can only truly find happiness outside of ourselves, when we’ve found it within ourselves first. I was always the girl who needed to have people around me, to have plans and keep busy and I’ve realized over the past year that while I truly love being surrounded by the people who love me (and whom I love), that being alone and learning to love being with just me is one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life. To love yourself is to truly understand the significance of your purpose in the world, and it allows you the strength, tenacity and perseverance to conquer anything that is thrown your way (including an unfaithful partner). When you love yourself that much, you truly know what you’re worth and will allow only the best of the best to enter and complement your life. To love yourself completely is the greatest gift you can give yourself…I’m definitely a work in progress, but I’m more committed than ever to getting there.

I’ll finish up with a quote of Carrie’s last words in the very last television episode of Sex and the City: “The most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.” Word. XO

worst loneliness

commit to loving yourself

it was always you

jim carrey meaning of life

i am love.jpg

be with someone

Leave a Reply

