The big reveal…

So here we go! In May of 2015 I started this blog to help me work through an unexpected divorce. What began as a journey to find my passions by doing a new activity every week for a year, eventually became a place where I could grow, mourn, love, and express myself through writing. Writing, which I’ve realized is my truest passion (among a handful of other amazing activities!). 

I’ve hesitated for the past 16 months to share this blog with the world. I’m not sure why exactly, fear mostly I think? Of sharing too much, or offending people? But after an incredible week of soul searching and adventure in the Canadian mountains, I know that I’m finally ready to put it out there and share my experiences and innermost thoughts and emotions. And here’s the real truth:


The past two years have been the hardest and most rewarding of my life. It began in August of 2014 when I suffered the first of two miscarriages, and in peaked in January of 2015 when my husband told me he was leaving me for another woman. Cue an epic amount of pain that has since led to an even more epic amount of growth, self-love, clarity, gratitude and a firm belief that everything that happens to you is the very best thing that could be happening. 

After a week in the mountains (where I truly believe my soul calls home), I spent my last night yesterday lying on a blanket in a clearing, surrounded by mountains, star gazing and sharing life stories with people I believe were meant to come into my life right now. We were all drawn to share that experience, all writers from Ontario who found themselves in Banff at the same age and same time, and all seeking to live our very best lives. It was truly incredible and I believe more than ever that I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be right now. 

You’ll notice I’ve been writing sporadically on here…sometimes every few days, sometimes every few weeks and even longer at times. Moving forward I will be committing to writing much more frequently because hey, I LOVE it! And if you can’t make time for the things you love in life, you’re wasting your precious gift of time on this planet. Live your passions every day ❤️

Happy reading! Til next time (in a few days!!)…XO

One comment

  1. Natalie Gauthier · August 31

    January 2014….like you, its so much easier for me to say no when people invite me to parties etc.. it takes me out if my comfort zone. I was angry at what was taking place in my home with my kids, angry at God for allowing certain things to happen. So in that anger (needing to do something, anything cause I thought I would burst) I accepted my neighbours invitation to her party that Friday night. I did a little retail therapy (we have that in common😊) and I met you💗
    I have spent the last 2 hours drinking my morning coffee ( that’s 3 now, lol) reading all of your blog ( with a few tears, and laughs😊 And a lot of “way to go Heather”👍🏻)Your blog is beautifully written and authentic!
    I am blessed to know you Heather.
    So thankful I went that night, xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

