I love love…

So firstly, thank you SO much for the overwhelming support you’ve all give me since I went “public” with my blog! The messages of encouragement and support have been exceptionally heart-warming, and I know that I’m surrounded by an amazing group of people – so grateful!

The end of summer is always a time for reflection and for loss in a way for me. I always feel like a new season brings a fresh start, and with the end of summer around the corner, I feel more ready than ever for Autumn and what its got in store for me. Having said that, Summer has always been a time when I thrive and flourish, and so there’s almost an inherent sadness that comes with the end of the warm, sunny months filled with travel, friends, outdoor activities, and just general awesomeness.

Luckily I’ve been fortunate enough to have an absolutely incredible summer send off with an epic kind of Labour Day weekend! That’s where the title of this blog post comes from…I got to share in my cousin’s beautiful wedding day on Saturday and had such a kick ass, love-filled time. It’s really interesting (and exciting) to be at a wedding, and actually be happy for the couple getting married. I know that sounds terrible, but after the separation from my ex-husband, I had a really difficult time being at weddings, and believing in the idea of forever. It was almost like witnessing people taking vows to be together forever, and to love each other through thick and thin, made me feel like a failure for not being able to keep my marriage together.

I don’t know what I was expecting this weekend, but I was so relieved that from the very start of the ceremony (which was an awesome departure from the ordinary with the officiant replacing traditional vows with the story of how the couple met, a live band that rocked the night away with the bride and groom making guest appearances on stage, and an amazing menu of vegan and gluten-free options) I was filled with complete joy for my cousin and his new bride. They are so happy together, have created such a beautiful partnership and are just so filled with HOPE for the future. That hope permeated throughout the auditorium, and at one point a guy grabbed me and started dancing with me and looked me right in the eye and said “I love love”…and I thought (and said) “I love love too”!!

This was a particularly exciting revelation for me, because for the first time in a long time, I’m actually open to love, and thinking about what it’ll mean to fall in love again. And get this – I’m EXCITED about it! I’m not in a rush or anything, no timelines over here, but I’m ready if it happens. Most importantly though, I’m in a place where I know I will always love and honour myself first, and make sure any future partner complements my life, instead of becoming my reason for being.

I can thank this blog in large part for that, because it’s pushed me out of my comfort zone, helped me uncover my soul’s passions, and made me focus my energy on becoming a better person through my divorce, instead of dwelling on things that were always out of my control. So Universe, take note of what I’m saying here 😉 Til next time, keep loving and laughing! XO

deserve love

love again

Leave a Reply

