get up, stand up…

So, it’s been a crazy week that was preceded by a hectic few months as co-chair of this year’s Burlington/Oakville Walk of Hope with my bff Ange. I don’t think I ever could have imagined the scope of putting together a national charity event like this, but I’ll tell you one thing – I can now lol!!

Our local walk was on Sunday, and it was the most gorgeous day you could imagine to be outside. Bluest of blue skies, white fluffy clouds and the kind of weather that’s not too hot, and not too cold – it was perfect. We had over 300 participants come out and #walkforher, and another 70 friends, family and loved ones who came to donate their time and energy as volunteers. I personally had friends from high school, current work, past work, cousins, my parents and sister and people from so many avenues of my life out helping that there were times I just kind of stood back and thought “wow, am I so lucky or what?!”. What a blessing to call on people for help and have SO MANY of them show up to support you, and an amazing cause. Did I mention our walk location raised almost $131,000 in support of ovarian cancer research?! What an amazing feat.

Sunday was not only the 15th anniversary of our Ovarian Cancer Canada Walk of Hope, but it was also the 15th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks. As most people do, I remember exactly where I was that morning, and couldn’t help but reflect on that while I was at the Walk. While there have been great strides taken in the world to protect innocent people from ever suffering through attacks like this again, the world’s problems seem to have gotten so much deeper, darker and scarier over the past 15 years. We have the world’s most influential country in the middle of an election with an inexperienced sociopath as one of their presidential candidates, more shootings in a day than I can keep track of, and a global landscape that seems filled with so much hate, racism, sexism, sadness and despair that sometimes it’s hard to believe that there will ever be change. Or at least that’s one way to look at it.

We always have a choice to see the good or the bad in things. The scary or the promising, the dark or the light, the despair or the hope. Sometimes all it takes is a look around at those closest to us to see that one person CAN make a difference, and that became so clear to me this weekend as I saw so many people in my life stepping up to help bring awareness to a cause that may not even have even resonated with them personally at the time they said ‘yes’. Doing good feels good, and the only way to make any kind of change is to DO IT. Just start somewhere, with something you care about and do it. It can be political, health related, a women’s cause, an international dilemma – anything. Trust me, you will thank yourself for it one day, you will change the lives of people you may not even know, and you will meet amazing people in the process. There is so, so much good out there to be found, we just have to embark on the journey to find it.

Do good, be good, find good. Never stop looking for it, and it will be there waiting for you. It will change your life exponentially, I promise. XO

dont-wait

live-for-yourself-bob-marley-quote

ha-occ

Leave a Reply

