Laughter IS the best medicine…

I woke up to an email from my friend Sara on Saturday morning, and it was the most perfect way to start my weekend. Sara is the amazing business goddess creating my soon-to-be-launched website (check her out here!), so she’s familiar with operation: passion and sent a link over with the message “this screamed OP so I thought I’d send it over to you”. The link was to an article on cbc.ca about a woman whose husband had left her for another woman, and how her two best friends are trying to bring a little joy back into her life. The husband and wife have 8 (yes, EIGHT) children together, and he just picked up and left the family after getting his new girlfriend pregnant. The real kicker is that he stole her one prized possession  – a Burberry scarf – and gave it to his new love. What a total douche, right?!

So, what do you do when your best friend’s asshole ex-husband takes off on her with her designer scarf in tow?! Why, you start a gofundme page of course!! This woman’s two best friends (who live in the Yukon incidentally) decided to try and cheer her up by starting a campaign to buy Heather (the wife!) a replacement scarf and in just 6 days they’ve raised over $4,800 from 345 donors – so crazy awesome!! Check out the page here…it’s seriously hilarious, these women are definitely right up my alley!

I’m writing about this today, because this story reminded me how important it is to have laughter and humour in your life through the hardest of times. When my ex first left me, I honestly never thought I’d laugh or smile again. Ever. But I soon realized that that would be next to impossible because I have such an amazing group of friends in my life who keep me laughing, no actually howling, about 95% of the time we’re together. Whether it was cracking jokes about my ex, telling funny stories from our past, or just getting drunk and giggling our asses off, they kept me laughing through the most challenging days of my separation and divorce, and I will be forever grateful to them for that blessing.

So, after reading this story on Saturday morning, I headed to Niagara Falls to celebrate one of my bestie’s birthdays. We had the best time ever!! So much laughing, dancing, adventure, fun – truly just a great night! It reminded me how lucky I was (and am!) to have a such a strong support system, and how important it is to maintain and nourish the friendships we have in our lives. Going through a break up or divorce is incredibly traumatizing, really one of the worst things many will experience, and the women who are by your side during these times are the real heroines of your story. The moral here is that you need to keep your friends close, and your best friends closer 🙂 and make sure you read this gofundme story – and the comments!! It’ll be your Monday morning giggle XO

megs-bdaywasted-days

stomach-ache

Leave a Reply

